Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Aditya Hridayam (from the Ramayana)

Versions in Different Languages

The Original or Adi Ramayan by Sage Valmiki has been adapted or translated into the various regional languages in India. Majority of them are not mere literal translation instead they all have their own distinguishing features.

Ramcharitmanas written by Tulsidas in the 16th century is the Ramayana version popular in North India.

In Urdu, it the Pothi Ramayana written in 17th century.

In Jammu and Kashmir, it is Kashmiri Ramavatara Charita written in 19th century.

In Punjab, it is the Ramavatara written in 17th century by Guru Gobind Singh.

In Gujarat, it is the Tulsi-krita Ramayana a Gujarati adaptation of Tulisdas Ramayana in 17th century by poet Premanand.

In Maharashtra, it is the Marathi Bhavartha Ramayana written by Eknath in the 16th century. There is also reference of Ramayana being translated into old Marathi during the 12th or 13th century.

In Assam, it is the Assamese Katha Ramayana or Kotha Ramayana in 15th century by Madhava Kandali.

In Bengal, it is the Bengali Krittivas Ramayan written by poet Krittivas in 15th century.

In Orissa, it is the Oriya Balramadasa Ramayana was adapted by Balarama Das in the 16th century.

In Andhra Pradesh, the Telugu Ramayan is known as Sri Ranganatha Ramayana and was adapted by Buddha Reddy.

In Karnataka, it is Kannada versions of the Ramayan – the Kumudendu Ramayana (Jain version) in 13th century and the Kumara-Valmiki Torave Ramayana in 16th century. There is another one titled Ramachandra Charita Purana written by Nagachandra during the 13th century.

In Tamil Nadu, it is the most popular Tamil Kamba Ramayana written by poet Kamban in the 12th century.

In Kerala, it is the Malayalam Adhyatma Ramayanam Kilipattu written by Thunchaththu Ezhuthachan in the 16th century.

Sanskrit versions:
  1. adbhuta ramayanam
  2. adbhutottara ramayanam
  3. adhyatma ramayanam
  4. agastya ramayanam
  5. agnivesa ramayanam
  6. anargha raghava ramayanam
  7. anand ramayanam
  8. atri ramayanam
  9. bal ramayana natakam
  10. bharat ramayanam
  11. bharadvaja ramayanam
  12. bhatti kavyam
  13. bhusundi ramayanam
  14. bibhisana ramayanam
  15. brahma ramayanam
  16. campu ramayanam
  17. deha ramayanam
  18. dharma ramayanam
  19. garuda ramayanam
  20. gautam ramayanam
  21. govinda ramayanam
  22. hanumad ramayanam
  23. hanumannatakam
  24. jamadagni ramayanam
  25. jaimini ramayanam
  26. janaki harana ramayanam
  27. jatayu ramayanam
  28. kapil ramayanam
  29. khetaketu ramayanam
  30. kraunca ramayanam
  31. krutivas ramayanam
  32. lalit ramcaritam
  33. lomasa ramayanam
  34. mahabharat-van parvatantargat ramakatha
  35. maha ramayanam
  36. mahavir carit natakam
  37. mahesvara ramayanam
  38. mangal ramayanam
  39. manu ramayanam
  40. naividheya ramayanam
  41. naradiya ramayanam
  42. naradokta ramayanam
  43. prasanna raghava natakam
  44. pulastya ramayanam
  45. raghuvamsa mahakavyam (by Kalidas)
  46. ramacarit cintamani
  47. ramasvamedham
  48. ramatapaniyopanisad
  49. ramesvara samhita
  50. ramnam mahatmyam
  51. ram raksastotram
  52. ram samhita
  53. saubhari ramayanam
  54. siva ramayanam
  55. skanda ramayanam
  56. sugriva ramayanam
  57. sumantra ramayanam
  58. sunand ramayanam
  59. surya ramayanam
  60. sutiksna ramayanam
  61. vasistha ramayanam
  62. viranci ramayanam
  63. visvamitra ramayanam
  64. vrutta ramayanam
  65. unmatta ramayanam
  66. uttara ramacarit natakam
  67. yajnavalkya ramayanam
  68. yogavasistham